Going Loco for Tacos at La Carnita!

Hola Amigos,

Last night, I had a real craving for tacos, thus invited myself to La Carnita with two of my nieghbourhood compadres. The time was 9:30pm when we waltzed in, and place was buzzing like a beehive. The bar rail was at capacity and the front section was jam-packed. We were lucky to get a table in the back section near the grand neon “La Carnita” sign.

This taco bar has a hip jive about it, the design to me seems almost industrial (no chrome finishes here!), the walls are brick and stone, plastered in graffiti from local street artists and diners can expect to hear some grungy, funky breakbeats with enough bass to crack a hard shell taco, good thing these are soft 🙂

The menu is a short quick read, which is a nice comfort considering I’m 3 glasses deep in wine and my decision making skills have somewhat diminished. There are five (5) starters including Mexican Street Corn & Mexican Meatballs and three (3) dessert which I couldn’t help but indulge in, once I found out about the Peanut Butter Popsicle.

Now for the reason we all came….Tacos! Tacos! Tacos! and being the greedy troll that I am, I decided to try 5 out of the 6 tacos available that night, including the Tuesday night special Squid the Kid LCXO

Here’s what I ordered:

La Carnita Tacos Fooze

Voltron sauce, lime crema, pickled red cabbage, green apple & cilantro

La Carnita Pollo Frito Fooze johannkd

Peanut mole sauce, pickled green cabbage & salsa fresca

I enjoyed everyone of these tacos, some more than others. My absolute favorite was the daily special “Squid the Kid” taco…which are lightly battered, fried with not too much salt. These were fantastic, I wish they offered them everyday!

Amongst the four posted above, I have a special place in my heart for the “Pollo Frito” which I understand is a signature item and came highly recommended by my friends. Pollo Frito had a great flavor once again, and was drizzled with a homemade peanut-mole sauce, which is to die for.

My second favorite has got to be”In Cod We Trust”. Fish tacos are becoming more and more popular, and I’ve had my share, be it Ahi Tuna, Ceviche, Shark or Mahi Mahi. I was impressed by the subtle yet flavorful  home-made Voltron sauce, which incorporates “tamari” a premium style soy sauce. This sauce was also partnered quite well with the rich, mellow “Mexican” crema fresca, which pacified the spicy zest of the dish.

Beef Cheek Taco La Carnita Fooze johannkd

Ancho braised cheek, lime avocado, green cabbage, pickled jalapeño & crispy shallots

Chorizo Taco La Carnita Fooze Johannkd

Chorizo, mango salsa, pickled onion, queso cotija & cilantro

 

 

 

Forgive me for not snapping a photo of the “Squid the Kid LCXO” taco, my mouth works faster than my memory it seems and It slipped my mind, so instead I’ll share with you a photo that I “borrowed” from the @la_carnita Instagram page, here it is:

Calamari Squid La Carnita Fooze johannkd

“Squid the Kid LCXO” Crispy Calamari Taco, with crema fresca, lime and Voltron Sauce

That brings us to dessert, as you will soon find out I have a wicked sweet tooth and am a slave to all things chocolate! I ordered the Peanut Butter Popsicle; this tasty treat was rich, smooth and surprisingly not too sweet. After the full Taco-Tasting seminar I underwent, I was forced to share my dessert with my girlfriend, who played modest, until she took a bite….after that we were fighting over who gets to lick the Popsicle stick!

Peanut Butter Paleta Fooze johannkd

Had a great time here, I’ve been before and would definitely return again. If your looking for a good taco in the College West area, La Carnita comes highly recommended!

Fooze Rating: 8 out of 10

La Carnita is located at 501 College St. W   (416-964-1555)

Websitehttp://lacarnita.com/ Instagram: @la_carnita Twitter: @la_carnita

Muchas Gracias por leer!

Leave a Reply

