Southern comfort with a caribbean twist at Harlem Underground

Harlem Underground

Server Pam presents a delicious order of Southern Fried Chicken & Waffles

So this is my first blog post, Ever….This experience is pretty fresh in my memory and I’d really like to share!

I recently visited Harlem Underground, with two friends after hearing great reviews about their Chicken & Waffles. Having never tried the Southern American dish, I had to see and taste for myself. Well…the proof really is in the pudding!

We visited on a Wednesday night around 8:30pm, and I was surprised to find the joint fairly empty, accompanied by six (6) other diners. We were seated immediately, next to the window, with a pleasant view and a cool breeze.

My friends truly hyped up the meal, so I went with high expectations and was not disappointed. We all ordered the same thing…Harlem’s famous “Southern Fried Chicken & Waffles”. The dish consisted of three pieces of fried chicken (two legs, one thigh) and a whole waffle, cut into four, accompanied by a small side salad and a variety of dipping sauces. The scotch-bonnet coriander lime syrup being my personal favorite.

The chicken was well seasoned and crispy (Just how I like it!) and the combination of the sweet maple syrup and the tangy dipping sauce resulted in a firework display of flavor. I thoroughly enjoyed every bite.

Finger Lickin' Good!

Finger Lickin’ Good!

We indulged in a glass of Johnny Walker Black Label on the rocks. I’m not one to complain about a container, but it was served in a cognac ISO rather than a scotch glass. However, this was the least of our worries.

Our server Pam, we discovered was Jamaican the minute she opened her mouth, was extremely pleasant, answering all our questions about the restaurant and menu. We learnt that the owner was a Jamaican as well, which explained the Caribbean fusion ingrained in the menu. Pam never rushed us, struck up great conversation and was quick to meet our needs!

I would definitely return to Harlem Underground to test drive the rest of their menu.

Next Time, I think I’ll be having the Irie Coconut Fettucini!

Fooze Rating : 8 out of 10

Leave a Reply

